Let Me Get This Straight: End of a 6.5 Month Stretch

After my longest stretch to date (26 weeks and 6 days) I relaxed my hair using Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Lye regular strength relaxer on 12/16/11. Usually, I go to the salon to get it done but I’m tired of being dissatisfied with my hair being under-processed, under-conditioned, and being overcharged.
Here’s how it all went down:
I mixed 2 tablespoons of EVOO into an 18.75 ounce container. My mother thoroughly based me with petroleum and I used Herbal Essences Hello Hydration and EVCO on the length of my hair. She parted my hair in 4 sections and was able to get through my head in about 15 minutes. We could have let it sit a little longer but my right side started to burn a little.
She rinsed out the relaxer with warm water and then I used Aphogee Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor for 5 minutes BEFORE neutralizing. I did this mid-protein step in order to start rebuilding the protein bonds broken by the relaxer. When possible, it’s best to do this step before neutralizing because the cuticle is still open and most receptive to treatments. It’s safe because both water and the protein treatment start lowering the relaxer’s pH.
After the 5 minutes had elapsed, it was time to neutralize. I used Isoplus Shampoo with the color alarm. My mother complained that her back was hurting so my boyfriend stepped in to help neutralize. He was extremely gentle and did a great job under my mom’s watchful eye. He also had fun while doing it smh.
 I then applied a DC consisting of ORS Replenishing Conditioner, EVOO, EVCO, Avocado Oil, and SheaMoisture Deep Treatment Masque. I left this mix on all night and most of Saturday (my sister had a track meet) and washed it out Saturday afternoon. My mother then wet set my hair with gray and black rollers using Chi Silk Infusion and water. I sat under the dryer for about 2 hours and then silk wrapped my hair.

My mom did EXACTLY what I needed and I’m really happy with the results. I’m currently flirting with BSL and by my next relaxer, I should definitely be there.  I am experiencing a slight bit of breakage and normal shedding so I’ll curb both with another protein treatment and moisture DC next wash. While I’m proud that I was able to successfully stretch that long, I won’t be doing that again! My mother found it challenging to get through my new growth so I’m bone straight in some areas and and have a little wave in others. 14-16 week stretches will be what I do moving forward.
Original Post Found Here.
Leave a Reply

